Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,I just bought a portable 6" jointer planer and started using it on some reclaimed lumber of various widths. I have never used a jointer before but I need it due to the irregular cut wood. I have watched a number of videos on Utube but they never seem to bring up my issue? I am doing something wrong when I am using the planer because a piece of wood starts at 3/4" but many times it ends up at a different thickness throughout the board length say 3/4" on one end and 5/8" on the other. Is it because I am putting too much pressure on the board as it goes through the jointer or is it something else. Are you suppose to put pressure on the board as it goes through the jointer (using the paddles provided) or just enough to hold it through the cutting process. Could it be that the wood is so cupped on one end that it ends up being thinner than the rest of the piece by the time I get it flat? Any thoughts?

·
Registered
33 Posts
I believe you want to put the pressure on the outfeed side, that way you're not pushing the wood into the cutter and then letting up on the way out.

Keep in mind you will not get uniform thickness with just the jointer unless you use shims.

http://www.wwgoa.com/jointer-vs-planer/

·
where's my table saw?
28,590 Posts
the jointer has no brain

It only does what you tell it......remove material when you push it over the cutter.
You need to sight down the board to determine WHERE the material needs to be removed ...at the ends, in the center, only on one end. You need to treat it like it's a hand plane on steroids and only remove material that will make the surface flat. That may mean "planing" from each end by stopping and flipping the board part way through each pass. You must sight the board each time to see what you have accomplished. You can mark up one side with chalk or a colored crayon to see the results. :yes: