Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just picked up some walnut shorts from the local mill and I need to glue them up in to wider boards (they are between 5 and 6" wide)
I have never done this before (but have read lots on the various technique)

I paid to have them planed (currently 3/4")
As I obviously have no planer and my hand planes amount to one dull block plane - can I use pocket screws to make the joints? - I can hide almost all of the plugs in my finished project ( i have a kreg jig) and if I were to do that do I need to worry about sanding down to the tip of a pocket screw?

the widest dimension I have in the finished project is approx 16" only

I spent a lot of money on the walnut (Walnut is very valuable! :smile:)
and I'm worried I'm out of league and should have build a few more pine objects before going after this one.

I have the wood in the room the project will end up in acclimatizing now

If pocket screws no good - should I use some other joint or just old fashion glue and clamps (I can do one 3 board glue up at a time with clamps)

·
pope of chilitown
76 Posts
as long as the edges are squared (have they been jointed?) then you can just use glue and clamps. i will be doing this either later today or tomorrow on some maple, I can take some pictures and post if you like?

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks tim - if you don't mind - that would be great!

they are jointed (I paid for that too!) my concern with clamps is I
end up with a joint that is not perfect (I assume none of them are!) and have to do a bunch of sanding - then end up with boards that are not true. Am I being silly?

·
Old School
24,027 Posts
If pocket screws no good - should I use some other joint or just old fashion glue and clamps (I can do one 3 board glue up at a time with clamps)