Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a customer request a bid for two built in shelving units to go on the side of a fireplace. I am going to use 3/4' oak for the project. The two cabinets approximate size are 2'X4'X5' The total for materials for this job $478.17 which included plywood,hardwood, stain/seal, hinges. The total I bid for the job was $850.00 which is to include labor,installation and staining. The guy told me that I was a little high but wanted to see what everyone else was thinking. He was waiting to hear back from one last shop on a bid and was going to be getting back to me. I am just starting out and thought that it was a fair price. I want to get my feet wet and get some work but do not want to do it for nothing buy charging to little on the later. What does everyone else think out there? Any advise would be great. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
419 Posts
Rule #1

My price is My Price. Do not, under any circumstances enter into negotiating your prices. My pricing structure is pretty simple, material list price x 3. Any discounts extended to me as a result of the volume of business I conduct with my vendors is mine. Any additional costs as a result of error on my part are my expense.

Ed

·
Registered
979 Posts
Hubaseball, I've been negotiating with a customer through e-mail all day today on an upcoming project, I don't consider myself a poker player, but there is definitely sometimes the element of a standoff to see who's going to fold first. Business has gotten a little more competitive in my area and gone are the days of "name your price" and you get the job, or here's my price take it or leave it. I have a family to feed and have to put my pride second sometimes.

I've had to refer back to clever point counter point maneuvers to make a client feel more comfortable with a price. This particular job is around 9k and involves a lot of cabinet work that is to be a painted finish.