Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to decide on a table saw. I have a dewalt portable one, but I'm going to be remodeling another building, and making a permanent shop. My dewalt is too small, I don't have enough table in front or to the sides of the blade, and many times I'd like to cut glued up pieces, and they are just too long for the saw. I was leaning really hard towards a Powermatic 66, or a 2000. And then I saw some ads for the Jet..... And lots of guys talk about the Delta. I'd like something that's 3 or 5hp, single phase, and has a long rail for a fence - I can build/extend the tables for it, but it has to be built for that. I admit that I haven't done much research so far as models and features, but is there a certain brand to look for, or stay away from? I'm by no means a professional, this will be a hobby shop, but I don't want to fill the shop with junk tools. Most of the wood that I cut will be either red oak or black walnut.

Rodney

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
To throw another in the mix...have you considered a sawstop? Quality as good or better than some of the models you referenced, but with a monumental safety feature.

If you rule that out....I'd be down to between the powermatic and delta unisaws....my personal preference would be for the delta as I like the dual front handle feature, and that they are still US made for about the same price as a powermatic.

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
As to the jet.....they're ok but nothing to write home about. If you were going to go jet, if look at steel city or grizzly. Both comparable in quality yet cheaper than jet.

·
Registered
722 Posts
ryan50hrl said:
As to the jet.....they're ok but nothing to write home about. If you were going to go jet, if look at steel city or grizzly. Both comparable in quality yet cheaper than jet.