Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm making a chair. more pictures to come. it's an attempted copy of a few chairs we already have. i've never tried something more refined from the tree but here it goes. reminder that i'm a real novice.

the tree was felled some time in the summer. probably 6 months ago or so. i should take close ups later. It's some beautiful elm.
i quickly split and made rough stock out of the thinner pieces that are tennoned (most not pictured). i left the legs in the log so that they tighten as they dry around the tenons. the stock remained in an un heated space and so thinner pieces of about 1/2 and 3/4 i assume are fairly dry. the front legs are 1 3/4 inch thick so i'm hoping i've timed it right.

i have used offset pegging so that the joints stay very tight. No glue and no power tools have touched this work, besides a lathe and the chainsaw the crew of men were using to fell. When i see guys taking down a tree I ask if i can get some. They always let me.

I accidentally turned one of the beads in the wrong place, and it's by no means perfect. I'm saying it so i don't have to hear it from anyone else.

Oof though. Elm is a wild species. I know it was used for hubs in wagon wheels back in the day because of its cross grain. It switches direction all over the place. Planing my stock was time consuming.

I'm sorry i don't take more picture of the process.

·
Registered
3,391 Posts
Looks pretty good so far.

One problem with using wood that hasn't fully dried is once you have it all finished, it may just tie itself into a knot while you're asleep! :laughing:

·
Rustic furniture
1,197 Posts
^Agree^
Also all of the joints could loosen up. You need to get a moisture meter and check all of the pieces being used. In this kind of work, your moisture content should be around 6%.