Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Egg Spurt
2,987 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I made a little jig to check the blade with miter slot and the dial moves less than 1/1000 in about 4" front to back..I can live with this.
Now if I can only find a board for the miter gauge that is dead on and doesn't flex at all I'll be happy as a pig in..uhhh..mud.. Yeah..mud! That's the ticket! I'd like it to be a bit lower, but for the time being it'll work..

·
Registered
Egg Spurt
2,987 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Same readings on individual teeth and the blade body as well from both slots.. I need to check the fence as well, but I think it's pretty close as well, but gonna check front to back too..

Edit: Just checked..fence has variations of about 4-5/1000s.. I'm no expert on this, but I think I'm good to go.

Reactions: BigJim

·
where's my table saw?
29,416 Posts
I never use a gauge for the "fence to miter slot parallelism" ,just a finger tip running along the slot with the fence lined up by eye as parallel as I can to start with. Then, if there's a noticeable difference, I adjust the fence. No math, no measuring, no gauges, just my finger tip. I only use the right side miter slot for the fence, I don't care what the left side says. However, as you show, the left side slot is used for the blade parallelism condition measurements and adjustments. I just count on the factory to have milled them parallel to each other!
Sounds like you are close enough for woodworking. 😃

·
Wishing he had a title...
449 Posts
I would be there is more than .001 play in your runner in the miter slot, so I seriously doubt you can repeadly and accurately measure to that accuracy. Not trying to be a jerk but most people do not realize that is takes some serious tools and good skills to actually measure accuratly to .001.

·
Registered
Termite
5,027 Posts