Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Little background... I've been doing Woodworking since 2002. I've done maybe 3 to 5 projects on average each year. This year so far, there's been 3 completed, 3 on the bench and another 2 due before June. That's a total of 8... and the year's not up. There's still a small kitchen re-do in my house and maybe two other projects before the year's out. Seems like good news... Except... I'm either getting the cost of material returned to me (New Church Building Projects) or nothing at all (House and Church gifts).

Obviously I have the website name registered. (RhodesWoodsmith.com) I also in '06 registered Rhodes Ave. Woodsmith as a fiticous name with the state due to two cabinets I built for a local University. That means I have rights to the name of my shop for five years. Also according to law, I've opened a seperate checking account for the shop. I've even worked out a price list and shop time billings per hour. I've been told by a couple of people in the know that the last thing is to get a business license. Not ready for that yet as I'm not convienced I'm that good. However...

I thought about some "cheap" advertising. I have Business cards I print out myself with my cell number and such. But I'm thinking something bigger... Maybe like a magnetic sign that I can place on the truck door as I'm driving around. With the name, some simple slogan, and the website. (Maybe the cell Phone Number, but right now I'm not too comfortable with that.)