Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I’m a very novice woodworker. I work on various small projects like frames, boxes, plant stands, as well as some larger things like a pergola, outdoor chair etc. I’ll post some of the projects I’ve done for reference.

My dilemma is, whether or not I’d be better served owning a table saw, or is my setup is fine for the DIY nature of what I do? This came about when I was making another frame. I have a portable palm router that I use to make my rabbet cuts. I end up needing to make 3 to 4 passes to cut deep enough for a frame, each pass taking up about 50% of my battery. Then I use my sliding compound mitre saw for cuts before glueing. Oh, and for the detailed joints, I use a pull saw.

I was considering purchasing a corded router to make my rabbet cuts easier, though maybe a table saw is the way to go? Is that excessive? Maybe I can step up my joinery game (Finger? Dovetail?). Would it be easy to fit in my garage workshop?

If this is a good option, which models/types should I consider?

Here are some recent projects:

Thanks!

·
Registered
12,992 Posts
I think that most people find that a table saw is the heart and soul of most woodworking. Even just extensive do it yourself projects around your house.

Recently had to put covering over the toe kick under my kitchen cabinets. Had to rip the purchased material to size. Could not purchase exact size.

George

·
Registered
71 Posts
I can't imagine not having a table saw at my disposal. A decent quality job saw would work well for what you are doing. They generally fold up into a compact piece that doesn't take up a ;ot of space when not needed. I have a Ryobi that does the job for me. As a bonus I made a router table that sits in the gap where the side table slides out. Before this saw I had a Craftsman with a cast iron table and belt drive. l sold it because I wasn't using it anymore.