Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
821 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have heard enough that spraying pre cat lacquer can make you go boom...enough that I used a wb acrylic lacquer instead. My diy spray booth is not set up for not exploding (haha...that sounds funny for some reason).

I'm a hobbyist...tables, benches. Maybe a few items a year. Less than 10.

Will I? I was not over the moon with the wb lacquer.

·
Sawdust Creator
8,047 Posts
It is explosive, however it does need to reach a certain level to be so. That said, with good airflow I've always been able to keep fumes at an acceptable level.

·
Registered
26,202 Posts
The thing about lacquer is it dries so fast you can spray it in your back yard where you don't have to have a spray booth. A coat of vinyl sealer and two coats of pre-cat lacquer and you are done. From start to finish could be just a couple of hours. With water based lacquer it raises the grain where it takes more coats and more sanding between coats where it might take you all day to do what you could do with a solvent based lacquer in a couple hours. Also water based lacquer is temperature sensitive where a solvent based lacquer can be sprayed when it is below freezing. At that temperature it dries slow but will work.

·
Registered
821 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So it sounds like I can blow myself up when spraying indoors without 'proper' air flow. I do 90% of my woodworking in the winter (summer is just too much fun to spend in the shop all day) and although the lacquer will work in below freezing I'm not sure I will :)

·
Sawdust Creator
8,047 Posts
So to answer your question in a no. Scientific way....I've always sprayed lacquer in my brother in laws shop which is an old farmhouse that's been converted without much airflow other than a window open and I'm still here, not to say it's right, but it's worked.

·
Registered
26,202 Posts