Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
517 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
NOTE: That should read Scraper plane, not Acraoper plane.

I saw a video on youtube where someone was using a scraper plane to remove paint from a board about five feet long.

Would a scraper plane be a good idea if I need to remove paint from a douglas fir table (I think it is doug fir, could be pine) where the table top is made up of about eight pieces of 2X4 joined together?

Or would a scraper plane leave the surface too rough to clean up with a number 3 plane (I also have a number 4 plane but it needs some TLC)

The table top is just about 3 and 1/2 feet square, so looking at around 12 square feet of planing.

I think there is only one or two coats of paint on there (of the same color) and although I am not a paint expert, I would guess it is latex based (but what do I know?) :blink:

If worse comes to worse, I COULD use my random orbital sander, but I would prefer not to just because of the noise and the mess.

thank you in advance for your suggestions.

·
7,222 Posts
I would use a paint stripper and a HAND scraper, not a scraper plane.

I found this at my local hardware store. I am using this on my hand plane restorations. Softens up the paint, no odour, water cleanup.

http://sunnysidecorp.com/shop.php?cat=10

I highly recommend softening the paint. It will make it much easier to remove.

Once you have the majority removed, you can consider ROS. I would not attempt power sanding without the stripper. The heat will soften the paint and it will rapidly gum up the abrasive.

A scraper plane is normally used after other planing as a last step prior to finishing in lieu of sanding.

I have a scraper plane and would not want to risk messing it up with paint.

My hand scraper is a working tool. If it gets dinged, I sharpen it. Worse case I have to buy a replacement, but inexpensive compared to my scraper plane.

·
Registered
909 Posts