Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! My name is Cam, and I have been "lurking" around the forum for a few weeks now(primarily the wood turning area). After finally taking the plunge and acquiring some tools for my tiny shop space(about 10' by 12' mud porch), I decided to take another plunge and join this forum. You folks seem by far the friendliest, most helpful and least judgemental group out of all the forums that I browsed. I am a Chef by trade, and have been for around 10 years now. I've always worked with wood(among many other materials) on the side as a hobby, or for the occasional commissioned piece. I am hoping to get more into turning, both utilitarian and artistic pieces. I have no delusions about making money from any of this any time soon. I just enjoy working with my hands. I hope to learn from all of you, and hopefully make a few friends as well.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Almost forgot; this is literally the ONLY forum I have ever attempted to participate in, so I will try to be mindful of rules, etiquette, etc. Please let me know if I am doing something wrong.

·
Half a bubble off.. {Θ¿Θ}
548 Posts
Hello from Maine & Welcome aboard Cam.
Glad you joined us and never be afraid to jump in with questions.
Although I'm not a "turner" I very much admire the skills required and there's some very skilled folks here to help you out.
Dig around, do some reading, jump in on the conversations & show us a few photos.
Don't be afraid to admit your mistakes.. we ALL make em.!!
Be safe and have fun.
..Jon..

·
I wood if I could.
3,976 Posts
Welcome to the forum. It's flattering that you'd say the nice things about the forum and our members that you did. There really is a great group of people here. I'm sure you'll feel right at home. I glad you took the plunge. We hope to see some of your work.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·