Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this is not directly wood working related, but I've gotten some really good advice here so far, so hoping for more.

I am in need of a contradiction of terms. I need an inexpensive Tig Welder that will hold up to hobby levels of use. I already have Mig/Flux Core and Oxy/Acetylene setups.

I'm ok with used, but I need it pretty quick, so if any of you are in the Dallas area and have one for sale let me know. I'll pay a fair premium for a good one. Will even compensate for your time if you can spend a couple hours teaching me the basics to get me to a point I can spend a couple of weekends with scraps practicing before I start this project.

Also with this welder I am in need of a complete ready to weld (well maybe minus bottle/gas). I have never Tig welded before, and my Mig/Flux Core welding is at a self taught beginner level (basically not looking pretty but finally welds I can trust to hold together). A month ago I would have confidently said my O/A *welding* was intermediate to very good, but a couple of weeks ago I accidently come to the realization that the person who taught me to O/A *weld* had never taught me welding, but taught me to be a very good brazzer. Long/funny story how I figured this out, and I wish my uncle was still alive so I could razz him about it.

So basically here is my issue I've been asked by an In-Law to build an Atuad (basically a slow cook oven that uses Mesquite or Char Coal for heat source... Pic attached.)

Anyway he wants it as light as possible, and wants a stainless steel inside. He loaned me his current one for measurements and such, and it's built using mild steel and Cedar.