Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is something to ponder:
Would the forefathers of woodworking laugh at us for trying to emulate them by trying to step back in time and copy their stuff while they were continually striving for a newer, easier and faster way to do things?
When I was an engineer we would always say "if the old ways are better, we would still be doing it that way." The word "we" meaning the bulk of the tradesmen, not any one individual.
I can understand the lure of the past, but I'm more about getting it done. I really enjoy my woodworking but I still want completion.
This sounds strange coming from me, the old sailboat guy that lived by the motto "It's not the destination, it's the journey"
What say you?

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
6,230 Posts
I believe that if Henry Ford had had the tooling and automation we have now he would have used it to the fullest extent possible. In the woodworking world I'm glad we have CNC machines for certain types of furniture and to assist in instrument building but I don't think you can (yet) replicate hand tooling, carving marks, joinery, etc. with machinery. And yes, I do enjoy the journey so I use my CNC where it makes sense and do the remainder of my work with traditional power and hand tools.

·
The Nut in the Cellar
1,559 Posts