Woodworking Talk banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone, I’m new to woodworking and have some ambitious projects in the works. One of which is my sister’s graduation present. I’ve taken two live edge pieces and covered them in TotalBoat ThickSet epoxy, as shown in the picture. I have about 1/4” of epoxy that is now near fully cured on top. I want to edge the sides with a bevel using my electric router. Do you think this is a good idea? I don’t want any tear out or chips to result, so I’m planning on making shallow passes on each edge. Thanks for the advice in advance!
Wood Rectangle Automotive tire Flooring Floor

·
Registered
Property mgmt
270 Posts
Go Red Raiders.
Can’t tell much by the pictures. Epoxy usually routes well, if you wait until it is fully cured and take thin cuts. Probably going to have to sand it to at least 400 wet to get a decent finish.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Go Red Raiders.
Can’t tell much by the pictures. Epoxy usually routes well, if you wait until it is fully cured and take thin cuts. Probably going to have to sand it to at least 400 wet to get a decent finish.
Awesome, that’s what I thought after making a few practice passes on some scrap. Do you use a polishing agent at the end? Like Meguires Ultimate Compound?

·
Premium Member
5,532 Posts
You can route epoxy, and pretty much an other plastic, but there are a few things to watch out for. First things first, take light passes, epoxy will chip in a heartbeat if you try to push it too hard, either by trying to cut deep or by trying to force the cut too fast.