Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy,

I am relatively new to wood working and have done a few small projects here and there. I guess I have now decided to take the plunge. My wife is interested in me making some new kitchen cabinets. I laughed and told her "I have a long way to go before I could do that!" She told me to get busy learning. So I figured, why not? I intend to spend quite a bit of time reading and learning before I even attempt such a thing, but I figured I would find somewhere to ask questions before I did anything else.

So I guess my first one is: if you were to buy a book (or books) on basic cabinetry, which would you buy?

I have a basic knowledge of woodworking, and a basic shop (table saw, router table, chop saw, etc.) setup in my garage. No drill press though, I guess this would be a good reason to get the wife to buy me one. :thumbsup: I will be improving both my woodworking knowledge, and my equipment, before I attempt ANYTHING related to cabinets. I value any and all input, you guys have done this before, I haven't.

R

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
texmedic49 Welcome to the forum. Don't be scared to jump into building cabinets. I have never done it either untill I built my wife a new kitchen. Take a look at my photo page. First cabinets I ever built.

·
Registered
5,031 Posts
Welcome to the forum TexM,