Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to this site BUT if I had read some of the threads BEFORE I bought this Craftsman RAS I might not be looking at this as a major pain in the behind project.
Later today when I get the saw out in the daylight I will post a photo, and some information because I know I am going to need some advice on how to get this bad boy in good shape.
It runs fine, motor sounds like a new saw but that is where the joy ends.
I will get this thing operational........
Bruce in Gold Beach Oregon:eek:

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
I wouldn't get too worked up yet....a lot of guys find radial arm saws to be a really useful cross cut tool.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks

I wouldn't get too worked up yet....a lot of guys find radial arm saws to be a really useful cross cut tool.
Thanks for the encouragement I am just feeling overwhelmed, having never had a ras before, but I know it will all come out OK in the end or I'll at least give it the old college try. First order of business is to clean it up, and lube what should be lubed.
The big deal is going to figure out how to mount it.
I hope you guys can give me some ideas. I will post relevant photos later today.
Bruce

·
Registered
27,636 Posts
What I would recommend is a thorough cleaning and lubricate the bearings and tracts so it is easier for you to fine tune all the adjustments when you get it set up. Often little or no maintenace was done on these saws. There is a guy near me that has had one on a uncovered porch in the same spot for 28 years. Also post the model number. Many of us have Craftsmans saws and have owners manuals we can scan pages for you.

·
Registered
400 Posts
I've had a ras for at least 25 years and its still a valuable saw in my shop. Many cuts are easier on a ras.