Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new to woodworking and am building my first real project, (I've built a few things like workbenches, saw horses, chicken coop ect...) I have two panels that are glued up and were mostly flat. We had a huge rain come thru and now they are warped pretty good. (they are to be the sides of a chest of drawers) To try and fix it I've clamped them flat to my work bench and plan to let then sit like that for a day or two till the humidity drops. Is this a good idea or are there better ways to flatten them out?

Thanks for all the help
Kevin

·
Registered
404 Posts
IMO that will not work and could possibly make it worse. What kind of wood and what was the MC of the wood before you machined it? You may have used too much clamping force/ your clue line not at a 90. When did you notice the cup? Right after they came out of clamps or did you
Lay them flat on table for a day or two then notice it? Laying flat does not allow for equalibrium of the moisture. One side gets more than other, hence the cup.

·
Registered
26,983 Posts
The warpage is due to the moisture content increasing on the crown side. It caused that side of the panel to swell more than the other. If you are going to clamp it flat it make take quite a while until it stabalizes but you need to put sticks under it so air can circulate completely around the wood. Another option is to wet the cup side with water to make it swell to equalize the pressure. It's like you took a dry kitchen sponge and wet one side of it. It would curl toward the dry side.

·
Registered
834 Posts
I recently built a blanket chest when the humidity was high and it soaked up so much moisture the top cup almost 3/8 of an inch over an 18 inch span. I was already to build another one and even had it glued up and went back to check on the original top and it had flatten itself back out. Give it a few weeks and see what happens.

·
Registered