Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm obviously new to this forum and relatively new to wood working. I have built things my whole life and enjoy woodworking more now than ever. I'm new to what I consider "finished work" however, and have just started trying to build furniture. Growing up in the country I've built countless chicken coupes, dog houses, benches and heck a barn but those are all pretty big and simple with no real attention to fit and finish. So I'm here to pick brains and get opinions/advise (I know those two get murky on the forums) and hopefully learn as much as I have by joining other unrelated forums! I'm located in central California and my wife and I purchased our first home last year so as you can imagine I can dull a blade and run out of glue faster than ever now! Unfortunately she knows how handy I am and I get plenty of "I need you to build this" and not much time for practice. I'm a boilermaker/blacksmith for union pacific by trade so coming home and working with wood is very calm and refreshing for me. Thanks in advance for all the knowledge I'll hopefully gain here!
/Jesse

·
Half a bubble off.. {Θ¿Θ}
548 Posts
Hello & welcome! Some great folks here Jesse so dig around, read, watch videos, and most importantly ask questions.
I'm fairly new to the whole experience myself so don't feel intimidated by some of the great stuff you see here.
Those folks are more than willing to answer any questions you might have about their methods & procedures.
Enjoy the ride!
..Jon..

·
where's my table saw?
28,759 Posts
hello

So a boilermaker/blacksmith for a railroad? How so? I thought all today's engines were diesel powered electrics. Are we going back to coal and steam? ;)

Any photos of the barn you built? What construction method?
Timber Frame with poles or stick built on footings?