Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been trying to finish this table, but have so far failed to successfully put the trim on. I'm trying to use 1/8" thick pine, but am having trouble with the curves. I am by no means a pro at this, and would appreciate any suggestions, thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
242 Posts
Welcome to the forum, might try an introduction.
No idea what part you are trying to trim on that table with eighth inch pine. Pretty vague.

·
7,222 Posts
Looks like an outdoor table.

I do not expect anything you do will hold up. The boards to which you want to attach the trim will move a LOT outside.

The 1/8in pine should flex around the curves, but whether you nail or screw this to the table boards, it will crack and split as the boards move.

·
Registered
26,955 Posts
If it were me I would sand the edge and leave it like it is. The most I would do is put a skirt recessed back 4" or 5" from the edge. There will be so much movement on the table top even a thicker piece of trim around the edge wouldn't stay.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
It looks like you have added a strrip of wood across the ends of the boards. If secured, will prohibit the expansion and contraction of those boards. If you properly installed it as a breadboard, it will serve its purpose. If you edge the outside edge of the table, without allowing for cross grain movement, you will have a problem with the boards.

·
Registered
629 Posts
Ain't gonna work!!:thumbdown:
Just finish the ends of the top boards and be done with it. Too much chance for expansion and constriction as others have said.
Bill

·
Banned
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·