Woodworking Talk banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any thoughts about how best to sand old oxidized/flaking polyurethane off uneven wood molding surfaces on our wooden front door so I can apply a solid color acrylic/latex exterior dark paint (which I hope will last longer). I'm looking for some sort of sanding fixture/tool so I don't have to do this by hand. Please see pic of the front door that needs
attention. All comments are welcome.
Window Wood Textile Fixture Material property

·
Registered
453 Posts
Caveat: I'm not a professional! That said, I'd go with a chemical stripper and a stiff nylon brush. I fear sanding, scraping or brushing with metal bristles would mar the molding detail, and heat stripping risks melting the glass solder joints.

·
where's my table saw?
31,501 Posts
You can chose between a mechanical approach or a chemical approach or both.
Sanding is best on wider flat surfaces, but scraping will work prior to that to remove most of it. Scraping is best in fillets and curves where a sander won't fit., A wire brush or wire wheel may save some hand labor.
Then after the mechanical approach you can use a chemical to soften and loosen what remains. The newer chemical don't have the strength of methylene chloride of times past and don't work as well which is why I suggested the above methods first.
Regardless, it won't be much fun and wear masks and gloves for protection.
A heat gun will also work to soften the finish without damage to the surface or the leaded glass. It's temperature is not that high like an open flame.
Paint and varnish are "film finishes " and don't penetrate the wood pores like oil or gel stains and finishes, so they require more extensive maintenance.
Ultra violet light degrades some finishes as does exposure to weather and water.