Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I need some help with building cabinet/closet doors. The images below show you what I have now and the style I’m going for.

Now:

Going for (note I just want two sets of French doors so the small doors up top and drawers on the left in the photo below don’t apply):

If this isn’t clear I can highlight the part of the image I’m trying to copy.

After doing some reading (I’m new to wood working) I’m thinking of doing a flat panel, rail and stile for the doors. I think this is the right terminology. The rail would have a tenon to fit into the tongue on the stile I believe.

This would all be painted white so probably just 1x4 pine for the rail and stiles and ¼ ply for the panel. Another reason is I don’t have a lot of tools and while I don’t mind spending some to accumulate tools I don’t have much of a budget outside of materials and I think most of this can just be done on a table saw. I’d need to get a dado blade but that should be it.

I do have access to a number of other tools as my brother is a contractor although again from reading it seems a router table and bits would be needed (he has a P/C router I could borrow) if I didn’t want to do it with the table saw. I don’t plan on cutting 24 tenons by hand.

The rest of the construction as far as framing, mortising hinges and so forth I’m comfortable with.

·
Registered
404 Posts
What are some of your questions? I personally would steer clear of pine(too soft IMO ) but use poplar and mdf for the panels.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts