Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A little background first..I have a piece of property in Northern CA at about 2,100 feet in elevation. I've got thousands of trees including Ponderosa Pine, Douglas Fir, Incense Cedar, Madrone, Manzanita, Black Oak and probably a few others I'm missing. I kinda think of the property as in the sweet spot for the variety of trees we have.

I'd like to cut slices off the Madrone rounds to make some trivets and charcuterie boards. Some trees have been down for years and others are freshly fallen. My question is how should I go about letting them air dry?

Would the best approach be to buck the logs and stack them to air dry or should I cut them down to rounds that would presumably dry faster but if they do will I see cracking? I know a lot of this is going to be trial and error, I'm just trying to get pointed into the right direction.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I am a novice to this as well, but have cutting white oak and red cedar trees. I have removed limbs but left in log form, and painted all cut surfaces with a sealer and stacked on a rack made of less desirable trees, in a shady area. I plan to buy a portable mill later this year and see what happens.
I seem to remember hearing that they need to dry 1 year / inch of thickness, but may have misunderstood.
good luck

·
Premium Member
3,207 Posts
You want to cut them first. The log will take 50 years to dry (well maybe 48).

They are difficult to deal with and usually develop large cracks as theydry and shrink. I don’t know of any sealer that will prevent that. Matt Cremona did a comparison of products.

For your intended use I would be making boards of the logs. Cookies aren’t going to be stable enough for what you’re doing. But - give ‘er a go!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
You want to cut them first. The log will take 50 years to dry (well maybe 48).