Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a very novice wood worker and am building a kitchen table out of reclaimed barn wood. I have 8 boards that will make up the table top. Most of today has been spent running those boards through my little table top jointer and I just can't get all of the edges lined up perfect. My question is how much gap inbetween boards is to much to glue? I feel like the edges are really close. Maybe a sixteenth or thirty second inch of a gap at most.

·
Super Moderator
4,940 Posts
1/16" is definitely too much. Depending on the length, style, wood type, intended finish, environment, etc., 1/32" might be acceptable.

How long are the boards? Where is the gap? If it's in the middle of the boards then the cause is likely that your table top jointer beds are too short to run longer boards. If the gap is on the ends it could be the same reason or it could be your technique.

Got any photos?

·
Registered
85 Posts
If you want the glue joint to hold, there's really no margin for error. There should be no gaps, unless you're using a 2 part epoxy glue which will fill the gaps with strong epoxy. Gorilla Glue which appears to fill gaps with a foamy guck should not be used as the guck is not strong.
If you intend to use traditional wood glue, the fit should be pretty much perfect to bond well.

·
Premium Member
5,706 Posts
Do you have a router, if so lay the boards side by side with a gap just slightly less than the diameter of the straight bit you will use. Set up a straight edge to follow with the router and run it between the two boards removing a minimal amount from both edges. the boards should now be a perfect fit.

·
Registered
1,733 Posts
if the variation is random... it might work. as they could offset each other over the course of the boards (or not).