Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
570 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm sure it's been asked before. Here's a little background info first. I'm currently making a display cabinet for toy trains where I'm putting about ten shelves roughly 4" apart in it. I dado cut the sides every 4" to accept a 3/4" thick shelf. We won't discuss how that's going since I'm a novice at dadoes but I ended up brad nailing them all from the outside which I really didn't want to do. Some were looser than others but in my defense I measured the shelves for thickness and some of those are inconsistent, as in not a true 3/4" thick. I probably shouldn't have attempted a project with 20 dadoes for a first experience in this, but I laid each one out at exactly 3/4 and cut the lines with a sliding miter saw set to stop at the bottom of the dado, and then cleaned out the waste with a router afterwards. I did it like this to make for easier setup. Just line up the blade and slide across. No clamping guides for a router or building jigs. It worked but the boards aren't all the same thickness. I'm using poplar 1x4 and 1x6 for all parts. No plywood.

Anyway the thought occurred to me that with a board stuck in a dado and glued in its always end grain to face grain. Does this hold well? Shelf end grain glued to side board face grain, and since it's a dado it's not a smooth bottom. Also there is shelf face grain contacting end grain in the dado from the dado sides. So there's always an end grain being glued on all three sides. I guess this holds well since it's obviously done often, but I just wondered how dependable this joint is?

·
Registered
303 Posts