Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.

How did you learn woodworking? Did someone teach you? Take classes? Books? Internet? Lots and lots of trial and error?

Can reading books, magazines and the internet teach me what I need to know to become a decent woodworker? By “decent”, I mean just really basic projects. Boxes, display cases and maybe some small tables or something like that. I have no delusions of grandeur about becoming Norm or David Marks. But I would like to produce quality projects that I wouldn’t be embarrassed to display or maybe give as gifts.

Thanks,
Bill M.

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
Hey Bill.
Well the internet, books, magazines, people can all help you learn tricks and techniqes.I believe that trial and error is truly the best way to learn. That is how I have learned everything I know about woodworking. I never really had anyone around that did it, so when I got the interest I just started playing with stuff until I figured it out. With alot of help from research, books or anywhere else I could soak up info from. This site has been a great help in clearing up several issues for me.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Well I've learned a lot from books, magazines, TV programs and the internet but I think I've learned most from my dad. Trial and error is a big part too, but when you've got a mentor there's a lot more trial and a lot less error.

·
Cabinet Maker
770 Posts
Yeah I would say just lots of practice will do it at least that's how I learned:smile: and don't limit yourself... work on bigger projects and you will get better and better.

·
Registered
979 Posts