Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am planning to make my own set of carbide tipped tools (similar to easy wood tools). These seem too simple to make to pay the premium price for. I do, however, have a couple questions I am hoping you can help me with.

How much of the bar should go into the tool handle? I plan to make several tools, and multiple handles, but would like the handles to have set screws so I can switch out tools if needed.

My second question is whether or not I should round the part that will be inserted in the handle. I bought 1/2" square stock, and could round the end that goes into the handle, but not sure if one is better/more desirable than the other.

Last, I was curious what are people's preferred tool lengths? Handle length and tool length themselves. I have 10 ft of stock to use, and can buy blanks for handles, so I have options.

I have very little lathe experience, and I know a lot of this is personal preference, but a nudge in the right direction would be a huge help. Thanks!

Dean

·
Turning noob
1,817 Posts
The full size tools 1/2 square shafts are 12" long with 4" in the handle and 8" exposed. 16" wood handles

The mini 3/8 square shafts are 6" long with 2" in the handle and 4" exposed. 12" wood handles

If you can round the part going in the handle than do it but people don't want to pay for that extra feature since square shaft in round hole works just fine.

Full size uses #8-32 screw
Mini uses #4-40 screw.
Ewt cutters come with these screws so do other ebay sellers and other random suppliers..

I made a few of these tools for my self and others on this forum.. :) good luck

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The full size tools 1/2 square shafts are 12" long with 4" in the handle and 8" exposed. 16" wood handles

The mini 3/8 square shafts are 6" long with 2" in the handle and 4" exposed. 12" wood handles