Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm new here and I'm new to woodworking. About a month and a half ago I started on my first wood working project, and I got quite ambitious with the entire thing. I've created a 6x8 game table that folds down at the edges so that each person has a place to play.

Now, here are the two questions that I have.

I want to make a place for some cup holders that I've ordered off of Amazon. I'd like to put 1 on each of the corners and 2 in the middle on each side. Unfortunately, I've already assembled the entire table, and now the places I want to put the cup holders are 4 1x6 deep.

In other words, the sections are about 3 inches deep of solid oak. I bought a holesaw attachment for my drill, but I'm worried about drilling through the entire three inches. Will drilling through the whole table on the sides like that hurt the stability of the wood? Is it even going to be possible to drill through the three inches, I don't think the holesaw would even allow that depth, it'd hit the top of the attachment before it could get through. Would you all have any advice on how I could do this? I'm incredibly new to woodworking, and I've already sunk so much money into the wood and buying all of the tools, so I'd hate to screw it up at this point.

I'm attaching pictures. In the picture where the sides are folded out, you can get a good look at the places I want to put cupholders. Basically, 1 in each corner, and 2 in that center piece on the side. I wish I had a good picture of the depth of the side, but know that it's 3 inches.

My other question has to do with the legs.