Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi my name is Mike and im located in NE Phoenix. I have wanted to get into woodworking for a long time now. I have some experience but I have a long way to go and hoping for some support here.
Usually when I decide to do something I tend to jump in head first (much to the frustration of my wife). I currently have a separate building to dedicate as a shop. Its a 16 x 20 barn with lots of storage in the loft. I have acquired the follow tool so far: a Rigid 3610 table saw w/ an Incra V27 miter gauge, Milwaukee 5616 router, a Dewalt 12" CSMS as well as all my basic power tools some clamps and vises. Currently looking for a drill press, jointer/ planer and a belt/disc sander. Any suggestions on must have tools to get started and ideas on setting up a shop would be greatly appreciated.

·
Alan Sweet
163 Posts
Welcome Aboard...

X Zonie here. I lived in Tucson and Mesa for a total of 25 years. I live in Alabama now. They get more rain here in 24 hrs than we used to get in Tucson in a year.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Welcome Line Guy, I live in East Mesa, Az. Retired from Toledo, Ohio and moved out here in 2002. I would recommend adding a thickness planer and a dust collector to your list. Tools are really based on what type of woodworking you plan on doing. I don't really get on here and say much. You will find that this site and those members are very willing to help.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi Paul nice to hear from you. A dust collector will be high on my list. I was thinking about adding a separate " closet" outside the barn to house the dust collector to help keep the noise down. I am checking Craig's List daily for both these items. One question... where are you purchasing your lumber.

·
Alan Sweet
163 Posts
Hopefully you will be able to find