Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to this forum and looking to become a regular. I am a software developer by trade but I consider myself to be an engineer in general being that I enjoy building things and watching the finished project come together. I am very new to woodworking and I know it won't necessarily be easy to just jump into it but I think my passion for building will keep me motivated to keep going.

At this point the only woodworking I've done (and this was years ago) was build a wooden adapter for a subwoofer in my car audio system. But I am now a homeowner and with that, my imagination is running quite wild. I have my eye on many home improvements from a gazebo to cabinetry.

This looked like the perfect place to get going. As it stands now, I have the following power tools at my disposal which I am slowly building on:

Hitachi Miter Saw
Dewalt Jigsaw
Dewalt Cordless Drill
Dewalt Cordless Driver

I haven't thought much about my next power tool but I'm all ears. I'm still pretty afraid of circular saws in general although I understand a lot of woodworkers find use for them. I've also started to read a lot of material that I've amassed over the years in preparation.

I look forward to learning a lot and helping others with the knowledge I gain.

·
Registered
1,718 Posts
Welcome Aboard

Attachments

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Welcome to the best woodworking forum.

Quick tips for beginners... Other then acquiring a table saw (which I think is the hub of my workshop), only buy the tools you need for a particular job you're involved in. Many of us own tools that are collecting dust.

Start by building shop items like a workbench or tool cabinet etc. Your 1st items will be less then perfect so as long as they are functional, you've learned and have something you can use.