Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
I am new to woodworking (3 Yrs) and I am looking for anyone who has the magic bullett which will tell me how to get a piece square. Example: Chest Front and rear peice 24" tall x 42 1/4" wd. (Exactly), Side peice 24" tall x 24" Wd. (Exactly) With raised pannels inserts. Lap joints to join piece together. When checking square (Measuring Diagnoaly) I am 1/8" out on Front piece and 3/16" out on side pannels. My question am I seeking prefection which will never happen or is there something wrong with what I'm doing and what do I need to do to get it perfect.

·
Cabinetmaker
646 Posts
Jim; I need more info. What are you using to cut these with? How exactly are you doing it?. Sounds to me like whatever u r using is NOT square to begin with. Also how are you ripping these ?

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
If you don't have a sled for your table saw or if you don't have a panel saw then I would take a framing square that you know it true and use it to guide your saw. This should come out perfect.

·
Registered
714 Posts
I'm reading this as a "frame and panel" construction with half laps as the joint of choice to fasten the stiles and railes...yes?
With half laps, the first thing I would check is if your tablesaw miter guage is square to the blade. If it is just a hair out of whack, you will magnify the problem by 4 times (each corner). This would show up at your end cuts of each stile and rail and in your lap cuts (assuming you are using a dado).
Yup, some more info would help, but trust me...sometimes, no matter how careful and exact I am, it still can be a bear to get things square. There always is a cause though and, over something that big, I would probably allow myself about 1/16"

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm reading this as a "frame and panel" construction with half laps as the joint of choice to fasten the stiles and railes...yes?