Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I'm fairly new to woodworking and am having some trouble with dado (notch) cuts. I'm making a fairly simple dining room table, only using some soft maple, a harder wood than what I've used in the past (mostly cheap pine). When I make a notch cut (2 inches deep), it's coming out too raggedy to chisel out. I've never had problems with notch cuts when working with softer woods.

I'm wondering if investing in a more powerful circular saw would make a difference? Or a better blade? Or maybe some better chisels? What's my problem?

Thanks!

·
bzguy
581 Posts
2" deep dado notch?
Are you trying to hog it out all at once?
Not sure what you're doing, but maybe clamp the work to saw table and slowly raise blade or make several passes?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies...I'll try and post some pics later - my camera is on the fritz right now.

Well it's more like 1 1/2 inches deep. I'm attaching a 2X4 table stretcher support to the two table legs.

I'm making the two end cuts (3 1/2 inches apart) first, then just making a zillion cuts in between the two end cuts and trying to chisel out. It's almost as if the cuts in the middle aren't going deep enough or something, and I'm left with this jagged "bowl" effect in the notch (from the circular saw blade). Usually I can chisel this stuff out when I'm notching up softer wood, like pine, but for this project it's just too stubborn.

·
Registered
12,933 Posts
To me it is still not clear what you are trying to do.

Maybe make a drawing and post that. A drawing would probably be better than a picture anyway.

George

·
Old School
24,017 Posts

Thanks for the replies...I'll try and post some pics later - my camera is on the fritz right now.

Well it's more like 1 1/2 inches deep. I'm attaching a 2X4 table stretcher support to the two table legs.