Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to woodworking and could use some help with finishing this ebony wood veneer I am thinking about buy from Oakwood Veneer http://www.oakwoodveneer.com/ebony-veneer-italian-dark-tone.html . I am currently building three speakers for my home theater system and these speaker would look fantastic with this veneer. I have never worked with veneer or any other type of nice wood before. My wood finishing experience is limited to junior high work shop.

My question is how should I finish this veneer in order to achieve an flawless furniture like finish?

The trimming and applying to the substrait seems to be straight forward and there are literally a million videos on the internet that show how to apply the veneer but nothing about finishing ebony veneer. Can someone please give a detailed step by step procedure for finishing this type of ebony veneer and/or a good book which can outline the procedure for finishing ebony veneer?

Most procedures for achieving that furniture like finish requires filling in the pours and sanding but I am afraid that if I use these method I might affect the ebony.

Ideally, I would like prep and apply a polyurethane but would love some advice.

FYI, the dimensions of the speakers 16"x6"x10" (H x W x D) and made from 0.75" MDF.

·
Registered
26,869 Posts
The grain fillers won't hurt the ebony. Think of it like thin wood putty. When you use the grain filler I would use one that was the color of the dark grain of the wood. It can also be tinted to match if you can't find any dark enough. Sherwin Williams sells a good grain filler however it only comes in natural color which they can tint for you. I use Mohawk Finishing Products grain filler. They have one that is black if the dark walnut isn't dark enough. If you have some scraps of the veneer I would recommend testing the finish on the scraps first.