Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for a backsaw for creating mortise and tenon joints. My objective is to build a small display box and would like to advance joining techniques. Would this type of saw be useful in future projects with dove tail joints?

In full disclosure:
a) I am a novice
b) Do not currently own a hand saw (only a circular and jig saw)
c) Prefer to improve my woodworking skill set
d) Open to advice
e) Offer my thanks in advance

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
After I posted and read my original question, I thought to myself - "I cannot believe there is not a hand saw in my garage"

·
Registered
32 Posts
Well ur asking a loaded question. Backsaws come in two main variations, crosscut (for cutting across the grain) and rip filed (for cutting down the grain). That being said one of each is a good start.

But here goes your dilemma. You buy one saw and stick to woodworking your going to end up buying ten. As you do your research you'll see saws are commonly named for their purpose. Dovetail saw for dove tails, tenon saw for tenons, ect ect. You'll see many have different TPI (Teeth per inch) configurations. The more teeth the slower but finer the cut and vice versa. So basically to answer your question I would look at a dovetail saw and a rip and crosscut carcass saws. That will be a good start. It'll enable u to do fine finish work and if u like the hand saw thing u can expand into larger saw that will hog off material faster and allow for larger joinery Here's some places to start looking

http://www.leevalley.com/US/Wood/page.aspx?p=68511&cat=1,42884

http://www.lie-nielsen.com/saws/

Oh yeah and although one saw can do many jobs in woodworking it won't do any job it's not designed to do well.

·
Registered
1,455 Posts