Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there,
Can anyone take a guess at what type of wood this is? last year i made this fake bar of soap as part of a larger sculpture. i now have to make another and cannot remember what type of wood i used. i have lots of scraps of wood in my studio and most likely just grabbed one because of the look of it's grain. i can guarantee that it isn't anything exotic, most likely a common wood from a lumber store like pine, poplar, or oak. however it doesn't look like any of these to me and could be some other species. what's confusing me is the pronounced grain mixed with it's light, and almost neutral color. However, i am no expert and it could just be common pine.
Thanks in advance!

(wood pictured is raw, not painted or sealed)

Attachments

·
Old School
24,017 Posts

We have an introduction section where you can say a few words about yourself. If you fill out your profile in your "User Control Panel", you can list any hobbies, experience or other facts. You can also list your general geographical location which would be a help in answering some questions.

Looks like Ash.

·
Registered
2,764 Posts
All the ashes (Fraxinus sp.) are strongly ring porous, I don't see that.
The growth rings are wide/rapid growth.
Hybrid aspen/poplar looks like that = quite white.
Without sections for my microscope, it's just a guess.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks cabinetman and robson!

is ash commonly sold at a lumber store? i have no recollection of ever buying a piece of ash but it is possible.

as for poplar, i have many pieces in my studio and was looking at them yesterday. if it is poplar i most likely would have used one of these pieces.
the grain however is very faint and wood also has areas of greenish color. also, poplar is quite pulpy. i remember it being more smooth and dense.
any more suggestions????

much appreciated!

·
Registered
1,932 Posts