Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys, I'm a newbie. I need some help determining what kind of wood this is. I had a friend give me some of this that was left over from a hardwood flooring job. I placed a red pin top so you can kinda tell the color.

Many thanks!

·
Log dog
7,933 Posts
I'd ask the friend what it is.
If he did the job? He should know what it is you think.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Looks like Brazilian cherry to me also, I picked up a bunch of pieces from a planning mill that were to short flor custom work. The.wood finishes beautiful,it is very hard and is a hard wood to work.

·
Registered
1,651 Posts
kempas??

·
Registered
303 Posts
Not Brazilian cherry. Here is unfinished " Brazilian" Cherry(Hymenaea). Yours is possibly Ipe.
The board leaning on the Land Cruncher door is "Ipe" ( Tabebuia Impetiginosa).Both were cut on my property.
Construction grade stuff !:eek:
I save the good stuff for furniture. Goncalo Alves, Mahogany,Bocote, Cocobolo etc.:thumbsup:
How about some Enterolobium ? ;):yes:

Attachments

·
Registered
303 Posts
I know. By the time I finished the bottle the wood was already bolted on and I came to the realization that I could no longer use my table saw :censored:. Que sara sara. Then I put on some Hendrix, blacked out and woke up to this ! :blink::laughing:

Attachments

·
bzguy
581 Posts
Check out Granadillo on the same site provided by Dave Payne.
Although the site seems to show a quartersawn sample with some of it's (beautiful and quite usable sapwood showing) the end grain pics especially look identical.
Many exotic tropical woods where I live, I love working this wood.

·
Registered
629 Posts
Tilaran, I would surely like to know more about that machine.
How about a separate post showing us what your intensions were/are.
Oh, bottle of what? :laughing:
Bill

·
7,222 Posts
Check out Granadillo on the same site provided by Dave Payne.