Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a little new to the glue up panel process. I have made a few cutting boards, but those are a lot smaller than what I am working with now.

I got the new Wood issue and I am building the TV stand in that magazine. I have glued up all the internal structure pieces but was kind of unhappy with the results. I keep having issues with the boards slipping slightly so my pieces isn't nice and flat.

I have a table saw and a router, but the boards are 2x6" white wood. I don't have a flush trim bit that is that big; so I have no way of jointing the faces.

I checked the table saw to make sure the blade was 90 degrees to the table. I ripped the stock down to 5" wide. Upon clamping, I staggered my clamps front to back and have them evenly spaced from each end.

Is there anything I can do to improve my glue up skill? I would love to be able to make great joints between board edges.

I do not have a planner or jointer.

·
Registered
1,309 Posts
Well you know, "back in the old days" they would use hand planes to joint their boards. They don't take up a whole lot of space in the shop, but they take some practice to become skilful at. It is possible to 'joint' an edge using a router and a straight edge. If the boards are too narrow to clamp a straight edge to, you can make a jig to insert the boards into and have the straight edge guide mounted on it. Yes, you would need to buy a router bit to handle the size. Cheaper than a jointer, though.