Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody. I'm new here and recently found a nice Roos Cedar Hope Chest that needed a little work. I thought it would be a nice gift for my daughter, who although is not even 2 yet, can have this chest for years to come! I love projects so I dove in.

The chest was made in the 40's and is of cedar interior with vaneer on the outside which was peeling up and even severely chipped at the base area drawer. I'm no wood expert, so after learning of ways to replace and patch vaneer, I had to find out what kind of wood it was. One person said Mahogany but other pictures of similar chests I.D.'d it as Walnut so I purchased some Walnut vaneer and re-did the bottom drawer. I also had to put in a vaneer patch on the face.

I'm stuck with finding out how to refinish the chest to make the new vaneer match the rest. I plan to strip the whole chest entirely. I don't know if there's a stain on the original or if it's just an Oil & Poly like Arm-R-Seal? What would be the best route to restore this going off of what I've done so far?

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts
I would recommend wiping paint thinner on your new veneer areas to judge the new vs old veneer color match. If the new material (walnut) is likely much darker than the original. You can either adjust the new material with bleaching chemicals to lighten or plan to stain the stripped old materials to add color to match the new. It is possible you may need to do both to achieve a good color match between the two.
I would predict the original finish was lacquer. You can test that by wiping an area of the original finish with lacquer thinner for lacquer or alcohol for shellac.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay I wet the new veneer with paint thinner and it is still lighter than the original so it seems a stain will be in order. For walnut, should I go with a water or oil based stain?

I plan to:
1)Stain the new veneer