Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm completely new to this and have googled this question to death to no avail.

My father in law made a table out of pine for me. I stained it with vinegar and steel wool, and because I wanted to keep that weathered driftwood look but still have the table mostly protected, I went with rustoleum ultimate soft touch matte water based polyurethane. I did 3 coats with a brush on the legs and 4 coats on the top, its been 48 hours since I finished the top coat. It didnt have bubbles but it did have a few little crunchy spot, so I went over it with the grain really lightly with a 220 sanding block. It smoothed it out, but looking at it on an angle it seemed to take off the finish? (I realize the bumps in the wood aren't ideal, but I'm not worried about them :smile:)
Is there a way to get the smooth top and an even sheen? It evens out when I run a slightly damp tshirt over it, but of course it dries and is back :yes:

Attachments

·
Registered
27,644 Posts
I'm completely new to this and have googled this question to death to no avail.

My father in law made a table out of pine for me. I stained it with vinegar and steel wool, and because I wanted to keep that weathered driftwood look but still have the table mostly protected, I went with rustoleum ultimate soft touch matte water based polyurethane. I did 3 coats with a brush on the legs and 4 coats on the top, its been 48 hours since I finished the top coat. It didnt have bubbles but it did have a few little crunchy spot, so I went over it with the grain really lightly with a 220 sanding block. It smoothed it out, but looking at it on an angle it seemed to take off the finish? (I realize the bumps in the wood aren't ideal, but I'm not worried about them :smile:)
Is there a way to get the smooth top and an even sheen? It evens out when I run a slightly damp tshirt over it, but of course it dries and is back :yes: