Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

1st post here. I'm a budding woodworker whose made interest in building is audio - speakers. Here is my first & current project:

http://inlowsound.weebly.com/diy-80hz-midbass-horn.html

I have a 10" Dewalt table saw with a 20" rip and 45d bevel. The saw works very well, but the 20" rip max means I have had to use the circ saw for many crosscuts, which of course is much less accurate.

I am having fun with this and have decided to build other things, so I am ready to invest in a Big Boy Saw.

The one can't-give requirement for my next saw is a rip of at least 40".

Perusing HD online, they sell Steel City. They have saws with 50" rip, but there are a couple problems with them:

- Those saws also use 230V, 3 hp motors. I'm going to be cutting ply & hardwood (maple) of at most 1 1/8" thick - I doubt I need a 3 hp motor.

- From what I've read quality control is an issue with these saws.

Should I go for the big Steel City, or something else? As far as budget goes, I'd kinda like to stay under $2K.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I wanted to add that a saw that lets me do bevels up to 60d without some crazy jig would be a huge plus also.

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Most if not all table saws go to 45 degrees....I have a steel city built table saw and couldn't be happier with it. As for 50 inch rip, you can get extended rails for steel city saws right from them.

In regards to the 3 hp....I do a lot of work in thicker oak...2-3 inches and I wish I had 3 hp....but I get along fine with 1.75.

·
Registered
12,987 Posts
Why do you want to rip to 40"? Do you want to crosscut a sheet of plywood?

It is nice to have a 30" capacity, but 40" is overkill and will cost you money that could be better spent otherwise.

George

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Why do you want to rip to 40"? Do you want to crosscut a sheet of plywood?