Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I could use some advice on the bench I’m building for a friend. He wanted something sort of similar to a restaurant style banquette, but freestanding/movable. I came up with this design according to the dimensions he requested. This is probably a fairly simple build for many of you, but I am new to building large furniture pieces of this nature that aren’t built-ins. I am open to modifying the design a bit (I know there should probably be a kick). But really what I’m looking for is advice on the best way to frame and assemble. Planning to use 5/4 poplar for the frame and sheet with 3/4 birch ply.

Specifically I’m not sure the best way to do these angles. Like, do I build a rectangular box as my frame, then tack on tapered members and sheet over? Or do I first cut the plywood sides and center, join those parts with framing lumber, then sheet.

again, I know these are beginner type questions, so please feel free to dumb it down for me. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Attachments

·
Registered
Egg Spurt
2,987 Posts
If memory serves me right most seat backs are around 5° from the seat. I would keep the seat slightly less than that just for comfort.
I'd probably make the seat and back @ 90° just to make the cuts easier to align, but tip the whole thing slightly.. It's simple enough to build the framing using either a bandsaw or a table saw sled for the angles then cover with the plywood. You can edge band the ply with either glued strips or iron on edge banding.. As long as you have a nice, sharp blade with a lot of teeth you should get a nice clean edge. Personally I'd probably make the back legs run the distance from floor up and connect the seat from the back. Lots of ways to do that part..

Reactions: TimeTurnsElastic

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·