Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I am new to this form and still improving my wood working skills with each little project.
I would like to build basic overhead, wall mounted cabinets over my workbench in the garage.
I am looking for plans that may make my life easier to construct them.
These cabinets will be used to house storage totes etc. and all my other garage goodies. The wife wants doors on them to hide the clutter too, heaven forbid we have clutter!! lol

Here are the free space dimensions I have to work with on the wall above my bench:
114" (width)
54" (high) it is 6' from bench top to ceiling, but I took off 1.5' so they dont sit on my workbench
18"-24" (depth) depth depends on your suggestions and plans.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks

·
Forgotten but not gone
5,674 Posts
. . . . . . The wife wants doors on them to hide the clutter too, heaven forbid we have clutter!! lol . . . . . .
Man I can relate to that. I want to build our kitchen cabinets with framed cut glass doors but the boss said no " It looks too cluttery". :glare:

My argument was "But we can see what we need to get quicker."
Even when I told her I had already compromised by agrreing to keep things in the cabinets and not out on the counter where I like them she just gave me that familiar glare like "The kitchen is my domain you will do as you are told." :laughing:

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
WELCOME TO THE FORUM

I would like to talk you out of spending money on plans, but if you have to, try http://www.plansnow.com.

What you will be making is a box or boxes with swinging covers on the front, called doors.:yes::yes: If you decide to make up your own sketch, there is help here with a step by step for your particular situation.

·
Senior Member from MN
219 Posts