Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie woodworker, but have been doing a lot of reading/research on this great hobby and this is my first post here.

I am working on a shelving unit, using Poplar. I have made all my cuts/dados/etc and I am in the final stage of putting a finish on my project. The project is 6ftx4ft and will have 8 shelves, to include a ¼” backing. The shelf will be used to hold my Blu-ray/DVD collection.

I am in the final stage of putting a finish on this project. The project has NOT been assembled yet, because I think it would be easier to apply the finish, then assemble it.

I have read/watched a lot about the mystery and confusing topic of finishing. I have purchased the e-book “Wood Finishing 101” by Bob Flexner. It has some good info, and step by steps, but does not really help me solve the issue I am having. I am thinking about purchasing Charles Neil book “Finishing, Simply Put…No Chemistry Degree Required”. Anybody own and recommend this book for newbies like me???

On to my problem. I have a 1x6x6 piece of scrap poplar that I am using to test my finish. I have routed some dados in the piece to separate my tests areas. The problem I am having is that some parts of the piece are showing little speckles of blotching. I know that poplar is a wood that tends to blotch, that is why I added Zinssers Bulls Eye Seal Coat (dewaxed Shellac).

The first section I added 2 coats of undiluted shellac. I waited for 2 hrs. before I sanded very light with 220gt paper before I added the 2nd coat. I did use an orbit sander, but barley put pressure on it. Should I have hand sanded it????

After the coat was dried for about a day I applied (wiped on) a coat of Minwax Gel Stain Mahogany 605. I notice in some parts of the piece there were speckles of some blotching.