Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello to all, I apologize if this is in the wrong place (mods please move if need be) I'm very new to woodworking. I've done a few pieces in the past when I was younger with Minwax stain and polyoneverythane. I'm older now and really care about this piece. I'm putting a lot of time in it and don't want to ruin what I've done so far. So I need advice on a dresser that was in very bad shape but was gave to me. I don't even know what type of wood this is. I do know it is a piece from about 1880-1900 because of the dowel like drawer joints. I will include a few list of things I've done already and things I want to do for the finish. I need advice if it is possible. I'll also include a few pictures.

What I've done;
Stripped with a citrus based stripper
Cleaned with a cleaner plus mineral spirits
Done all repair work (used dap filler, later learned dap isn't good.
Sanded to 120 (plan to go to 220)

What I want to do;
Dye or stain (looking for a good reddish finish)
Stains, dyes I've looked at (Varathane's cabernet which I love, Gf's merlot <-(love) and cranberry, watco's Danish red mahogany).
Some type of wash(seal)coat. Looking at shellac or Gf's pre conditioner.
Something to pop the grain (blo?)
Some sort of topcoat. I want a hand rubbed look, something that looks original. Something that looks like it already has patina and not been redone recently. (looking at shellacs, deft's laquer, Gf's wiping finish.)