Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, I'm not a professional and I don't play one on TV. ;) I'm refinishing a dining set for a friend (paid!) and I'm staining the top, painting the rest. I stripped with Citristrip, used an after wash, and started sanding the leaves and that's when I realized the table top is veneer. It's applied in parquet squares and edge pieces and has a fake grain that you could feel. I continued sanding, and sanding, and sanding (started getting scared I would go through) until I thought all of the finish was off. It felt smooth and had taken away the fake grain. Sanded with 120, 220, and 400. I applied General Finishes Java gel stain and that's when I realized I have a mess. After applying the stain, I can see some of the sanding marks and the stain is very blotchy and uneven. On one of the leaves parts are shiny and parts aren't. The other leaf isn't as bad but it has a huge dark spot at one end. I've applied 2 coats of stain and it's gotten a little better but it is still terrible. I need advice on what I should do. I don't want to do anything more to the rest of the table until I figure out how to fix the leaves first. Should I use a stripper again and sand some more? The photos show the table after I used a stripper, then the two leaves which are totally messed up. I just refinished a table for another client using the GF gel stain and it turned out great. It wasn't a veneer though. I've never refinished veneer. PLEASE HELP!!! Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
26,215 Posts