Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wandered in from contractortalk.com. I'm a landscaper by trade, but have really been getting into woodworking. Slowly accumulating tools and such.

Looking forward to talking with y'all and learning something along the way.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm reaely interested in box making. And would eventually like to get a lathe and take a shot turning.

I made a custom pethouse for a cat as a Christmas gift, and am seriosuly considering the custom pet house market. Not the fancy mansion types, but decent type houses-not a couple sheets of plywood with a tin roof types stuff. i think I could do that in my spare time, and I may be in a good place for it. I'm a geographic outcast. We get a royal reaming on shipping things here (Hawaii-Kauai to be more specific).

I'd like to get some equipment to mill down some wood. I have access to more mango and Guava than i could ever use in a lifetime, and on occasion some fairly exotic woods.

Some trees I trim...the rings/grain....just fascinating.

I like to take advantage of some of this stuff and make boxes or other small woodcrafts. Simple stuff for the craft fairs to start with, and then when I know what I'm doing, hopefully some bigger gallery quality stuff., such as tables, chests, desks....

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
My tools so far-Dewalt router with fixed and plunge base, cheesy Ryobi router table and bit set, mid-range Craftsman table saw, Ryobi 10" compound miter saw, 13" Ryobi planer, Ryobi bandsaw (small-3.5" max cut height). Various drills and hand tools.

All pretty much entry level stuff, but I had to make sure my interest was going to hold before getting the good stuff.

I enjoy it enough and have been getting good enough that I think I'm ready to start upgrading my tools.