Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5,427 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone, I don’t know why I didn’t see this introduction section earlier. I was searching Google and stumbled upon this site. When I’m working on something I tend to get tunnel vision and miss stuff.
I’m almost 60 and I’m currently a Power Systems Technician by profession. I was an apprentice carpenter before Vietnam but decided to take advantage of the GI Bill when I got out of the Army and went to college. I’ve been dabbling in woodworking all my life, well since I discovered my dad’s complete workshop in our basement at 7yrs old. :icon_cheesygrin:
My 1st project was a plywood jeep that I made while my dad was at work. I nearly cut my thumb off on his band saw and in my haste to conceal my injury, I left a big mess scattered all over the floor which my dad could not miss. My dad had a fit because I used some expensive plywood that he bought for a customer, but said my jeep looked pretty good. Well it was supposed to be a racecar, but after he said it was a jeep, I decided that was what it was. I never told him about the thumb. :thumbsup:
My shop is mostly on wheels and consists of a Table Saw, Band Saw, Belt/Disc Sander, Router Table, Mitersaw and a Drill Press that doubles as a Mortiser. I had a 12” Radial Saw and a 6” Jointer but had to sell them many years ago during rough times. I have to wheel everything outside when I want to build something, so I don't do much during the winter except maybe at Christmas.;)

·
Registered
5,031 Posts
Sleeper,
Welcome to the forum. What do you mean you don't do much in the winter because of the weather?:laughing: We are talking southern California, right? How cold does it get there? I'll gladly trade you the winter months.:icon_cool: Well anyway, what's first up on the project list?
Mike Hawkins;)

·
Registered
5,427 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sleeper,