Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Chairman of the 'Board
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I live in Paradise USA, also called Key Largo, Fl. I am joined by my sweetie, my son and three cats. I consider myself semi-retired and own a similar forum dedicated to Scuba: www.ScubaBoard.com. I am also a Scuba Instructor as well as a Scuba Instructor evaluator.

I worked my way through college in UF's Chemistry Machine Shop and worked most of my life in the automotive field. However, I have always had wood tools and enjoy making things as I need them. As my projects get finer, I realize that I don't know enough about the tools I am working with. I'll be starting a thread about how close is acceptable if I don't find one.

·
Chairman of the 'Board
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
is close acceptable when scuba diving? Lol sorry had to, I know I am evil :)
There's an observation that deco theory ls like measuring with a micrometer, marking with chalk and then cutting with an axe. We deal in SWAGs: Scientific Wild Arsed Guesses.

On a metal lathe, I can get within 0.001" quite easily. I just checked the variance of my saw blade from the front to rear and got between 0.001" and 0.002". When I did the same on my fence, I got a 0.005" variation. Wood seems to be more forgiving than brass or aluminum (unless we are welding them), so I don't want to beat myself up trying to be overly precise. Frankly, if you can point me to any thread on setting up/tuning cut off and table saws, that would be helpful. I am also keen on building a solid woodworking bench. You guys probably have a favorite thread on both of these topics, so please steer me in the right direction. :D

·
Registered
1,718 Posts
Welcome Aboard

Attachments

Reactions: NetDoc

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Hunter said:
I always thought that Paradise was in Texas! Welcome to the forum.

Hunter