Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just joined the forum today as I have, over the past year, been doing a fair bit of woodwork. I'm mostly into rustic works and reusing old disused timber, giving it a new purpose.

I really look forward to seeing what kind of things people get up to and learning a lot more because I am basically a novice!

Just thought I'd attach a picture of my first table, made entirely of old roofing batten I found in my garden.

Hope everyone had a great Christmas and I look forward to talking with you all soon.

ForumRunner_20131228_150441.jpg

·
Registered
834 Posts
Welcome! Very nice table you have there looking forward to more of your projects.

Reactions: clintuk

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you guys, I look forward to seeing all your stuff too.

Cabinetman, that "Welcome" sign is fantastic!!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The motherland! Haha, I like your style Tony. I'm in the east of England in a town called Bury St Edmunds.

Have you visited the UK before?

·
puffessional Scrabbleist
155 Posts
England

Yup. A few decades ago my wife asked me to pick a place for vacation with our timeshare. I told her to schedule it and I'd go...wherever she picked. We wound up spending a month up north in your lake region. Stayed in Keswick for a bit and then moved to Ambleside. We drove into Scotland several times, mostly to see remnants of Hadrian's Wall. Couldn't get to Edinburgh due to ice. It was late November through Christmas so we experienced mostly sub-freezing temperatures the whole trip and the sun set around 1 PM.

Nothing was open but the folks living there were really friendly and rarely passed us as we walked without stopping to chat with "the crazy Americans coming in winter". The roads in that region run up to 28% gradient...without guardrails. Even the sheep were scared. The weather forced us to relax and enjoy the local "pub" atmosphere.