Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have two black walnut slabs 20"W x 96"L x 2"t and then I want to put another piece of wood between them to get a roughly 4 foot wide table. I will be gluing them all together but being a big table top i want to make sure its supported really well.

First question would be what tone wood should I put in the middle, really dark, really light, or try to match the black walnut tone?

Secondly I have two train of thoughts for supports. Either make a couple dado cuts about 3/4" deep width wise and nail in a hardwood board OR just make a 2x4 support system underneath the top. If I was going with the 2x4 route I would make them out of 1x4 oak boards and glue together for nice straight supports?

I'm really new to big woodworking so any help would be much needed? Thank you.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm thinking the dado cut and insert wouldn't allow the top to move so I will probably scrap that idea.

I'll be using z-clips for the middle supports to the table and slotted holes any where I use lag screws to secure directly to top.

I guess my biggest unknown is the color and tone of the 3rd middle board to flow nice with the other two black walnut slabs.

·
where's my table saw?
28,579 Posts
Like a farm table?

I'm thinking the dado cut and insert wouldn't allow the top to move so I will probably scrap that idea.

I'll be using z-clips for the middle supports to the table and slotted holes any where I use lag screws to secure directly to top.

I guess my biggest unknown is the color and tone of the 3rd middle board to flow nice with the other two black walnut slabs.