Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so this is not exactly woodworking but it will allow me to continue wood working. Here in Upstate NY it gets really cold in the winters. In addition to that I am a 5 minute walk from a huge lake. I would like to heat my garage (aproximately 20ft by 20ft) during the winter to keep my projects going. I don't need it to be shorts weather and I can bring any of the projects to my basement for finishing in a controlled temperature. I was thinking propane would be nice for storing extra fuel but I notice the salamander style heaters blow through a 20lb tank in 14 hours (that seems excessively expensive). Anyone have any suggestions on size, fuel type, things I am not considering? This is my first year wood working and I would like to keep it going during the winter.

·
Registered
629 Posts
I don't have to deal with the extreme cold as you, and my shop is well insulated (doors and windows), caulked tightly, and attached to the home.
I use oil filled radiators (elec.), and can keep the shop at 60 degrees easily. If it gets goofy cold (in the 20s) which sometimes happens, I turn on the second heater.
I am just too nervous about open flame around dust, finish fumes, etc.
The radiators are not expensive, and thermostat controlled.
Might be an option if ya have a pretty tight shop.
Bill

·
Registered
1,510 Posts